Kalamazoo Valley Community College

A+ Certification

A+ Certification Information
As established by CompTIA

The following courses will prepare you for this certification:

    CIS 110 - PC Operating Systems
    CIS 115 - PC Hardware Installation & Configuration

The following is an except from the CompTIA site:

A+ Certification is a testing program sponsored by CompTIA that certifies the competency of entry-level (6 months experience) service technicians in the computer industry.  Anyone who wants an internationally recognized credential as a competent entry-level computer service professional can take the A+ examination. The program is backed by major computer hardware and software vendors, distributors, resellers and publications. The A+ test was first available in July 1993, with a complete revision of the exam occurring on July 31, 1998. Earning A+ certification means that the individual possesses the knowledge, skills, and customer relations skills essential for a successful entry-level (6 months experience) computer service technician, as defined by experts from companies across the industry. The test covers a broad range of hardware and software technologies, but are not related to any vendor-specific products. To become certified, you must pass two parts -- the Core and the Microsoft DOS/Windows module portion. When both the Core and the DOS/Windows portions are passed within 90 calendar days, the candidate receives the A+ designation. Once an individual is A+ certified this designation is not required to be updated as the test is revised.

How Many are Certified?
As of March, 2000 there are over 180,000 A+ Certified Technicians worldwide!

Who may take the tests?
A+ Certification is open to anyone who wants to take the tests. The A+ exam is targeted for entry-level computer service technicians with at least 6 months on-the-job experience.  No specific requirements are necessary, except payment of the fee. Individuals may retake the test modules as often as they like, but the Core and DOS/Windows portion must be passed within 90 calendar days of each other in order to become certified.

The A+ test is live throughout the world in English. We have translated the A+ test into the following languages:  Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Japanese,* simplified Chinese* and traditional Chinese.*  If you have any questions, please call the CompTIA Certification Area at (630) 268-1818 extension 359.
*Japanese, simplified Chinese and traditional Chinese are limited to countries that support double byte computer languages.

The A+ test contains situational, traditional, and identification types of questions.  All of the questions are multiple choice. There is one answer for each question.

It is CompTIA's policy to make reasonable accommodations for individuals with disabilities. If you need special accommodations, please contact your test vendor 30 days before scheduling your exam.