Trustees Name New College President


During a special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Kalamazoo Valley Community College earlier today, Dr. Luther Marshall Washington was named the college's third President.

Washington was chosen from a field of more than two dozen candidates. The appointment becomes official once the Board and Dr. Washington agree on final contract details, which include compensation and an official start date. The contract will be formally approved at a future meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Washington, President of New River Community and Technical College in Beckley, West Virginia, will succeed Dr. Marilyn Schlack, who has served as President of the college since 1982.

Additional details will be released as they become available.

This article was posted on 03/15/2018.